mHealth: My Mobile Wish List. Fourth in a series…


Health care is both broad and deep, and while there is extensive expertise and many smart thinkers in the fields of medicine and management, the sector has definitely been behind the curve when it comes to incorporating the power of new innovations other than medical innovations into its core.  While hospitals and providers offer the latest scanners, testing devices, drugs and procedures to their patients, the management of the system is still in many instances paper based and the interactions with the patient are for the most part old school.  There are clearly exceptions and there has been a lot of talk of movement to a more integrated operational system utilizing Health Information Exchanges, Electronic Medical Records and other tools.

At the same time, consumers/patients have been taking to the new world by storm.  The growth in social sharing sites like Facebook, which has crossed the billion users threshold, and twitter, rapid adoption of smart phones and tablets, and the proliferation of apps to do just about anything have clearly demonstrated what the consumer is looking for.

So how does one meld these two worlds

My mobile wish list would include the following:

How am I doing, what is my health status, how does it compare to others? Even more useful it needs to be more than just a static or tracked value, I want to know what I should do about it, how I can make myself healthier. There are tons of apps that track my data, everything from fitness apps, to dieting apps, diabetes management apps, but few of them provide advice based upon the data they track, even fewer provide clinically appropriate advice, and of those how, many of them have even a hint of behavior change knowledge built into the?.  The truly smart system will:

  1. Track data relevant to my health status from multiple sources to provide a comprehensive picture.
  2. Provide easy to understand representations of the data.
  3. Analyze the data and provide me with recommendations, alerts and education.
  4. Recognize my Readiness to Change and lay off those areas I am not yet ready to work on, while focusing on those I am ready to work on.
  5. Feed relevant information to my provider, family member or friend.
  6. Be engaging, changing behavior is very difficult, most people download an app and in a few weeks stop using it.
  7. Be device specific, I don’t want to read a book on my smart phone, or take a 75 question survey, but I love to read on my iPad.
  8. Integrate smart voice technology like Siri so I don’t have to type everything.

These are a few items on my wish list, I would love to hear your wish list, please add any you might have in the comments below.

About Fred Goldstein

President and Founder of Accountable Health, LLC. My background includes over 25 years of health care experience in hospital administration, health plan management, disease management and population health.
This entry was posted in Health Risk Assessment, mHealth, Preventive Medicine, The Industry, U.S. Preventive Medicine, Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

