What has The Prevention Plan Done for Me?


I am now into my third year on The Prevention Plan, as good a time as any to provide you with an update of my progress. My Personal Prevention Plan now contains three years of Health Risk Assessment, Labs and biometric data. Each year I have become more involved in my plan and our company has become more active in creating a culture of health.  I can clearly see and feel a difference.

So what has improved?

I now try to work out every day, have dropped a fair amount of weight and improved my waist/hip ratio as well as some of my lab values.  According to The Prevention Plan I have improved to where I now have zero High Risk factors in any of the risks The Prevention Plan determines.  This is a nice improvement from year one when I had a few categories that were high risk.

Equally as important

is that I am now up to date on my Preventive Screenings, having finally found a physician a year after beginning The Prevention Plan. My doctor  is interested in prevention and what I am doing to improve and maintain my health, he even scans my Prevention Plan reports and results into his electronic medical record.  We have excellent discussions on where I am and what I should and should not do to improve my health even further.

Areas where I could improve:  While my diet has gotten better, it’s clear that I would lose more weight if I lowered my consumption. As a kid and for years after, I could eat anything and as much as I wanted.  This is no longer the case.  I do eat more fruits and vegetables and much less fast foods but every once in a while I fall off the wagon and eat a lot.  Especially around holidays where I always find I have some reducing to do post festivity. While my exercise has increased, it’s the intake that really appears to drive my weight. So while I continue to exercise often, I have become much more focused on what I am eating.  I now track my eating using one of the many apps available for an android phone.

My Prevention Score, which provides points for the activities and screenings I get (the intervention score portion) and points for my results (assessment score portion) has made me more interested in all areas of prevention. Last year I maxed out my intervention score and finished the year with 913 points out of 1,000 possible. This allowed me to reduce my out of pocket portion of the health insurance premium costs as per our company policy.

So now in year 3 what am I going to do differently?

  1. I’ve joined an adult soccer league and we play once per week (when I am not on the road 😦  ).  This aerobic activity has been really enjoyable and gets my heart rate way up. Its way more fun than going to the gym which I do on the other days.
  2. At the airports unless close to missing a flight, I skip the moving walkways and take the stairs instead of the escalators.
  3. I drink much more water every day and drink anything else fewer than a handful of times per month. Soda’s are gone.
  4. I try to get more fruits and vegetables every day.  For me a breakfast smoothie with water, protein, banana’s and strawberries is one easy way to start, but there is much I could do to improve.  I bring lunch into the office almost every day. One idea I got from Ashley Reynolds, MSN our SVP of Health and Member Services is to buy those microwaveable vegetable packets and eat those for lunch. They are quick, easy and actually taste pretty good.
  5. Getting outdoors, especially in the woods is very peaceful for me, so as a family we are camping and backpacking even more and I get out with my sons to play paintball or airsoft on some weekends to liven it up.

All in all, I’m extremely pleased with The Prevention Plan and what it has done to change my life. Using it I am much more aware of and invested in my health and of course its very rewarding to see improvements.

About Fred Goldstein

President and Founder of Accountable Health, LLC. My background includes over 25 years of health care experience in hospital administration, health plan management, disease management and population health.
This entry was posted in Health Risk Assessment, Preventive Medicine, The Prevention Plan, U.S. Preventive Medicine, Uncategorized, Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

