Year 3 on The Prevention Plan – an Update


So I’ve now entered year three of The Prevention Plan. As with all of us at U.S. Preventive Medicine, I have until January 31 to complete the registration, Health Risk Appraisal (HRA) and lab and biometric screening. Last week I began and completed the online HRA which took about 15 minutes and  on Thursday I made an online reservation to have my blood drawn Monday morning at a nearby Labcorp PSC.  Arriving at the Labcorp office about 25 minutes early on my way to work, I anticipated a wait but within 5 minutes they were calling me back and I was out 5 minutes later, a bit lighter in the blood department. A reservation for the blood draw is definitely the way to go (Thanks Paul).

This morning, Wednesday, I awoke to an email notifying me that I had some information at The Prevention Plan. I quickly logged in wondering if my results could be back in two days.  Sure enough lab results were in and my plan had been updated.

I rapidly flashed through my risks and was able to compare the last three years of health risks in about 40 categories on the Prevention Plan dashboard. I then reviewed my labs and compared them to my physician visit midyear and my two previous years in The Prevention Plan.

So how did I do? Well, since I started I have improved all my cholesterol values and they are all within normal range and have improved my diet, exercise, weight, BMI and Blood pressure.  Amazingly I now have no/zero/nada “High Risk” Categories and only a handful of moderate risk categories; not too bad. I am also up to date on all my major preventive screenings and have only the annuals which will be due again this year. The areas I targeted to work on last year showed improvement.

This year I will maintain my current efforts, up the exercise some more, further improve the diet  and focus on one more area.  After a quick discussion with one of our nurses, I have some ideas on what may have affected one of my lab results and we’ll see if the changes recommended make a difference.  Overall a very successful year and its nice to see the results’ of my efforts. My ending Prevention Score for the year was over 900.

Realistically, I am beginning to come to grips with the fact that I’m not 20 anymore. The Sunday morning hour and a half soccer matches which I recently re-started a year and a half after a broken ankle (bone chips still there) now leads to a bit of stiffness on Monday. The first week was rough, but the second not too bad, so I expect it to get better each time. But the other workouts either at the Gym, with the XBox or outdoors make playing the game itself possible; which is a real joy. I just finished listening to Drive by Daniel Pink and realize that Soccer is one of those things that gets me into Flow. The game is something I have been working on mastering since living in the Netherlands in 10th grade and I’m eagerly looking forward to playing long into my golden years, many decades from now; it’s all part of The Plan.

If you would like to comment on your experiences with The Prevention Plan, please feel free to add them below..

About Fred Goldstein

President and Founder of Accountable Health, LLC. My background includes over 25 years of health care experience in hospital administration, health plan management, disease management and population health.
This entry was posted in Health Risk Assessment, HRA, Preventive Medicine, The Prevention Plan, U.S. Preventive Medicine, Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

