My New XBox Kinect – another fitness option


With all of the talk of the growing obesity rates and poor physical fitness here in the United States, many of us are looking for ways that we and our children can fit some exercise into our busy schedules.

As an early birthday present my wife and children got me an XBox Kinect a few weeks ago when I had expressed an interest in the fitness programs and some of the active games.  It was an easy set-up and very easy to begin using. The exercise options with Your Shape: Fitness Evolved, are fun, entertaining, and vigorous.  They track your calories burned and provide interesting feedback. The biggest advantage for me is this allows me to do a work-out at different times of the day, when I might be not be able to go to the gym.

There are also times when I just don’t feel like getting up at 5:00 am to drive to the gym and then return, clean up and take one of my sons to school by 7 or 7:30. With the ability to now work-out in the house, I can get up a little later, actually work out longer and still get my children to school on time. I can also play games with them as I did earlier this week when we challenged each other to some track and field, boxing and soccer on Kinect Sports while it was raining outside. Trust me, the Track and Field game will get your heart rate up.

The variation in work-outs available have targeted muscle groups I apparently had not worked during my standard gym sessions and created new areas of soreness. As an easily bored person. the variation available also keeps me interested. Heck I even finish my XBox sessions with the Yoga class, now who’d have thought?

Overall while its not a complete substitute for getting outside and exercising, the XBox Kinect is a good option for those who don’t get any exercise and want to begin an exercise program or those who are looking for some variation in their routine and the ability to work out in their home.

Remember to check with your physician before beginning an exercise program.

About Fred Goldstein

President and Founder of Accountable Health, LLC. My background includes over 25 years of health care experience in hospital administration, health plan management, disease management and population health.
This entry was posted in Obesity, Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New XBox Kinect – another fitness option

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention My New XBox Kinect – another fitness option | Thoughts on Health, Prevention and Health Care -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

